icon

Sygic GPS Navigation for Android

Free app with option to buy Premium license.

Managing your maps

The maps which the Sygic app displays and uses to navigate you are stored inside your device. The app asks you to select and download your first map when you install the application and open it for the first time. You can add more maps, or remove some of those you have downloaded in the past, at any time through the app's menu → Maps.

Adding more maps

  1. Tap on the menu icon in the top left corner of the Sygic app's main screen.
  2. Select "Maps". You will be shown the map(s) which you have already downloaded.
  3. Tap on the "+" symbol in the bottom right corner.
  4. Choose the region.
  5. Find the map/country in the list and tap on it to begin the download.

Country Split

Beginning with version 17.3.8 , the Sygic GPS Navigation app includes the country split feature. The eleven largest maps in terms of file size, have been divided into smaller parts/regions. When you see such a country in the list of maps for download, it will have a note saying "contains regions", and after you tap on it you will be shown a list of those regions. You can choose to download all of them at once, or select just the ones you need and thus save storage space in your device.

Countries which have had their maps split into regions: Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Mexico, Russia, Spain, United Kingdom,

How many maps can I download?

You can download as many maps as you want, if you have the storage space for it in your device. However, we strongly recommend that users only download those maps, which they know they will need and use.
Downloading too many maps for no reason in case you don't need to use them, can cause the search to be slower and return more irrelevant results, much longer times for downloading map updates in the future, and an overall performance decrease of the app because it has to handle a lot more map data.

Deleting maps

  1. Tap on the menu icon in the top left corner of the Sygic app's main screen.
  2. Select "Maps". You will be shown the map(s) which you have already downloaded.
  3. Next to the countries in this list, on the right side you will see a trashcan icon. Just tap on that to delete that map, which frees up storage space in your device.

For other map related topics, check out our other articles about map updates or download issues.

(ms)

Back to the section overview

How to backup your favorites, POIs and routes?

How to move Sygic to SD card?

Are you happy with Sygic GPS Navigation?

Share it please

Submit a request

If you did not find the answer to your question in our FAQ, user guide or video guides section, please contact us by filling in the details below. Our support staff will contact you back via email within 48 hours. Thank you.

You request has been sent! Our support staff will review it and contact you back within the next 48 hours. Thank you.